Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Mittal becomes Chairman Railway Board

Ending the suspense over filling up senior posts, Railways today made a record 11 appointments including Chairman of Railway Board and eight General Managers.

A K Mittal was appointed as the new Chairman Railway Board succeeding Arunendra Kumar, who superannuated on December 31.

Mittal, the senior most official, was earlier Member Staff in the Railway Board.

Pradeep Kumar, who was General Manager of the North- Central Railway along with additional charge of Northern Railway has become new Member Staff succeeding Mittal.

Railways also filled up the post of Member Electrical, which was lying vacant for more than six months after the retirement of Kulbhushan in July 31 this year.

Navin Tondon, General Manager of South Eastern Central Railways, has been appointed as new Member Electrical.

V K Gupta, Member Engineering, has been given additional responsibility of Member mechanical at the Board.

Besides railways made appointments of eight General Managers (GMs) vacant for a year, according to a senior official in the Railway Ministry.

While A K Puthia is the new GM of Northern Railway, Rajiv Mishra has become GM of Northeast Railway and Mahesh Mangal is the GM of Centre of Railway Electrification.

A Singhal has been appointed GM of Northwest zone, A K Mittal is the new GM of East Central railway.

Alok Dave has become GM of Rail Coach Factory and S Mukherjee has been appointed GM of the National Academy of Indian Railways.

A K Harit has been appointed as GM of Diesel Locomotive Works.

Source: Business Standard